The Proof Is In The Bread Pudding!


I’m NO baker. I went to culinary school and studied culinary arts. I have taken several baking courses, and have made desserts professionally in restaurants, but it isn’t something that comes naturally to me. I think most people feel this way.

Panatone Bread Pudding... yum.

So when it comes time to make something sweet, I stick to the basics. Baking is 100% science and math. I love cooking because you can play around; add a little of this, throw in a little of that. With baking, you really can’t do that because the finished product won’t be the same. For me anyways, not being a pastry chef, I go back to my roots when I make desserts. I get inspired by the food I ate as a kid, and remake the classics.

Nothing reminds me of my childhood more than bread pudding. My grandmother made the most delicious bread pudding I have ever, ever eaten. This recipe is the closest I can get to it, with a twist. I use panatone; a deliciously rich and flavorful bread. Filled with raisins and citrus, its a bread similar to brioche and works great for bread pudding.

Measure out your ingredients first to make things easier.

Panatone Bread Pudding
Serves 10-12           Cooking time: 1 hr

1 Panatone, diced into large cubes
10 Eggs
1 cup sugar
1 T honey
1 stick butter, melted
1/4 cup orange juice
1 pinch salt
1 t vanilla
4 1/2 cups milk

Panatone soaking up custard

  • Unwrap your panatone, and cut in into large cubes.
  • Whip your sugar and eggs together until well incorporated.
  • Add your orange juice and honey to the mixture.
  • Whisk your milk in, to make a custard base.
  • Take your cubed bread and push in down into the custard.
  • Let it soak up the custard for 15 minutes.
  • Melt your butter and use half to grease your baking dish.
  • Pour your soaked bread and all custard into the baking dish.
  • Push down lightly to fill the pan.
  • Pour the rest of the butter over the top of the pudding.
  • Bake at 35oº, covered with foil, for 45 minutes.
  • Uncover and bake for another 15 minutes.

Bread pudding ready to go into the oven.

I love my bread pudding cold with whipped cream and berries. You can have this anytime hot or cold, but I promise you can’t eat just one piece!  The pudding comes out so moist and delicious.. and the panatone is so flavorful.. its a great combination!

YUM! Finished bread pudding. Brown and caramelized, soft and luscious on the inside

I hope you try this “chefy” dessert. Its so easy and so delicious. If you have any questions about this recipe, or anything at all. Email me at Chef.seangallagher@gmail.com. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Sean Gallagher

2 thoughts on “The Proof Is In The Bread Pudding!

  1. I made the Barefoot Contessa’s Panatone Bread Pudding and it was delicious! Coincidentally, today I am making a Banana Chocolate Chip Bread Pudding! I had to leave the bread out for a day or two and we are ready to roll! love your pics! beautiful!

Leave a Reply

